Luton.Events

Founded upon Charles Darwin’s research into ‘The Power of Movement in Plants’, this interdisciplinary project of Science, Art and Music is funded by Arts Council England. artist Gayle Storey observed bio structures across Luton at 12 important and culturally significant locations in March, recording the environment, turning data into music, with help from the Royal College of Music. The public had the opportunity to vote for the 12 locations across Luton, accessed through an online poll.

The collaboration will result in two performances, one in Luton at St Mary’s Church and the other at The Royal College of Music.

The first concert will take place on July 11th 2018.at St Mary’s Church, St Mary’s Rd, Luton, LU1 3JF.'Darwin’s Bio Orchestra’concert, featuring Luton Music Mix, Luton Youth Orchestra and students from The Royal College of Music.

Luton Music Mix and The Royal College of Music is pleased to announce this collaboration with local artist and the University of Bedfordshire Testbeds Artist Gayle Storey.

Gayle Storey has collaborated with Head of Composition at the Royal College of Music Junior Department, Simon Speare, to produce a Bio Orchestral score of music from Luton’s environment. Simon Speare’s students who attend the Royal College of Music Junior Department have also each produced a piece of music influenced by one of 12 locations, in and around Luton.Royal College of Music musicians will be part of a team that will rehearse and perform with local students from Luton Music Mix .

Part of the programme will includes a world premiere performance by Luton Youth Orchestra with The Royal College of Music Sparks Mentors, playing newly commissioned pieceTurning Towards the Sun’, by composer Simon Speare, written especially for Luton Mix Mix and inspired by the Bio Readings from 12 locations in and around Luton. Concert start time 7pm

Dates

  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018
  • Monday, April 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, May 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, May 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, May 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, May 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, May 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, June 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, June 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, June 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, June 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, June 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, June 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, June 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, June 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, June 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, June 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, June 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, June 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, June 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, June 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, June 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, June 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, June 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, June 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, June 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, June 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, July 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, July 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, July 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, July 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, July 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, July 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, July 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, July 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, July 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 31, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, August 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, August 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, August 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, August 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, August 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, August 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, August 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, August 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, August 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, August 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, August 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 31, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, September 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, September 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, September 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, September 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, September 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, September 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, September 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, September 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, September 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, September 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, September 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, September 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, September 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, September 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, September 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, September 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, October 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, October 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, October 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, October 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, October 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, October 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am

Darwin’s Bio Orchestra” concert on October 6th 2018 5.30pm start. Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall, The Royal College Of Music, Prince Consort Rd, London SW7 2BS.

Bury Park Community Centre

Phone: 01582 450194

Email: buryparkcc@lutonculture.com

Facilities

  • Venue rooms with capacities ranging from 5 - 100 (150 standing and 100 seated)
  • 4 toilets
  • 4 disabled toilets
  • Disabled access to all areas
  • Cafe run by Lunch Club, 3 days a week
  • Library Access Point
  • Carparking including 2 disabled spaces
  • Photocopying and faxing available

Other Workshop Events

Tim Etchells: Hearing Voices
6th Mar - 18th Apr 2020

Tim Etchells: Hearing Voices

Departure Lounge presents a new commission by renowned British artist Tim Etchells.

Storefront Gallery

Workshop

Armagideon Time
18th Apr - 19th Apr 2020

Armagideon Time

Lutons longest running alternative night hosting a night of revolution

George 2nd Pub

Workshop

Trainspotting @ G2
8th May - 9th May 2020

Trainspotting @ G2

Lutons longest running alternative night hits the 90s

George 2nd Pub

Workshop

See All Workshop Events See All Events