Luton.Events

Founded upon Charles Darwin’s research into ‘The Power of Movement in Plants’, this interdisciplinary project of Science, Art and Music is funded by Arts Council England. artist Gayle Storey observed bio structures across Luton at 12 important and culturally significant locations in March, recording the environment, turning data into music, with help from the Royal College of Music. The public had the opportunity to vote for the 12 locations across Luton, accessed through an online poll.

The collaboration will result in two performances, one in Luton at St Mary’s Church and the other at The Royal College of Music.

The first concert will take place on July 11th 2018.at St Mary’s Church, St Mary’s Rd, Luton, LU1 3JF.'Darwin’s Bio Orchestra’concert, featuring Luton Music Mix, Luton Youth Orchestra and students from The Royal College of Music.

Luton Music Mix and The Royal College of Music is pleased to announce this collaboration with local artist and the University of Bedfordshire Testbeds Artist Gayle Storey.

Gayle Storey has collaborated with Head of Composition at the Royal College of Music Junior Department, Simon Speare, to produce a Bio Orchestral score of music from Luton’s environment. Simon Speare’s students who attend the Royal College of Music Junior Department have also each produced a piece of music influenced by one of 12 locations, in and around Luton.Royal College of Music musicians will be part of a team that will rehearse and perform with local students from Luton Music Mix .

Part of the programme will includes a world premiere performance by Luton Youth Orchestra with The Royal College of Music Sparks Mentors, playing newly commissioned pieceTurning Towards the Sun’, by composer Simon Speare, written especially for Luton Mix Mix and inspired by the Bio Readings from 12 locations in and around Luton. Concert start time 7pm

Dates

  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018
  • Wednesday, June 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, June 24, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, June 25, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, June 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, June 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, June 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, June 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, June 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 1, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 2, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 3, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, July 4, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, July 5, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, July 6, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 7, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 8, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 9, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 10, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, July 11, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, July 12, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, July 13, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 14, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 15, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 16, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 17, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, July 18, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, July 19, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, July 20, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 21, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 24, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, July 25, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, July 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, July 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, July 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, July 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, July 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, July 31, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 1, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 2, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 3, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, August 4, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, August 5, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, August 6, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 7, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 8, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 9, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 10, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, August 11, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, August 12, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, August 13, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 14, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 15, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 16, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 17, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, August 18, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, August 19, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, August 20, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 21, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 24, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, August 25, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, August 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, August 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, August 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, August 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, August 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, August 31, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 1, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 2, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, September 3, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, September 4, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, September 5, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, September 6, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 7, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 8, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 9, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, September 10, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, September 11, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, September 12, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, September 13, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 14, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 15, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 16, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, September 17, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, September 18, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, September 19, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, September 20, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, September 24, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, September 25, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, September 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, September 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, September 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, September 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, September 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, October 1, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, October 2, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, October 3, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, October 4, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, October 5, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, October 6, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, October 7, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, October 8, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, October 9, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, October 10, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, October 11, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, October 12, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, October 13, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, October 14, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, October 15, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, October 16, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, October 17, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, October 18, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, October 19, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, October 20, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, October 21, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, October 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, October 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, October 24, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, October 25, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, October 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, October 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, October 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, October 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, October 31, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 1, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 2, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, November 3, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, November 4, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, November 5, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, November 6, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, November 7, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 8, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 9, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, November 10, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, November 11, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, November 12, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, November 13, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, November 14, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 15, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 16, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, November 17, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, November 18, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, November 19, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, November 20, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, November 21, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, November 24, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, November 25, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, November 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, November 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, November 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 1, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 2, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 3, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 4, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 5, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 6, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 7, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 8, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 9, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 10, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 11, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 12, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 13, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 14, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 15, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 16, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 17, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 18, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 19, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 20, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 21, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am

Darwin’s Bio Orchestra” concert on October 6th 2018 5.30pm start. Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall, The Royal College Of Music, Prince Consort Rd, London SW7 2BS.

Bury Park Community Centre

Phone: 01582 450194

Email: buryparkcc@lutonculture.com

Facilities

  • Venue rooms with capacities ranging from 5 - 100 (150 standing and 100 seated)
  • 4 toilets
  • 4 disabled toilets
  • Disabled access to all areas
  • Cafe run by Lunch Club, 3 days a week
  • Library Access Point
  • Carparking including 2 disabled spaces
  • Photocopying and faxing available

Other Workshop Events

Creative Experiences: Monoprint Portraits
Thu 24th Jun 2021

Creative Experiences: Monoprint Portraits

In this free art workshop for adults we will be learning how to mono print and create portraits using this method.

Tokko Youth Space

Workshop

Taster Lino Printing Workshop
Sat 26th Jun 2021

Taster Lino Printing Workshop

Try out cutting and printing your own single colour lino-print to take home

The Hat Factory

Workshop

Decorate Your Own Plant Pot With Errol
Sun 27th Jun 2021

Decorate Your Own Plant Pot With Errol

A messy, hands-on experience about growing plants from seeds and the value of upcycling your old containers.

Stockwood Discovery Centre

Workshop Family Friendly

See All Workshop Events See All Events