Luton.Events

Founded upon Charles Darwin’s research into ‘The Power of Movement in Plants’, this interdisciplinary project of Science, Art and Music is funded by Arts Council England. artist Gayle Storey observed bio structures across Luton at 12 important and culturally significant locations in March, recording the environment, turning data into music, with help from the Royal College of Music. The public had the opportunity to vote for the 12 locations across Luton, accessed through an online poll.

The collaboration will result in two performances, one in Luton at St Mary’s Church and the other at The Royal College of Music.

The first concert will take place on July 11th 2018.at St Mary’s Church, St Mary’s Rd, Luton, LU1 3JF.'Darwin’s Bio Orchestra’concert, featuring Luton Music Mix, Luton Youth Orchestra and students from The Royal College of Music.

Luton Music Mix and The Royal College of Music is pleased to announce this collaboration with local artist and the University of Bedfordshire Testbeds Artist Gayle Storey.

Gayle Storey has collaborated with Head of Composition at the Royal College of Music Junior Department, Simon Speare, to produce a Bio Orchestral score of music from Luton’s environment. Simon Speare’s students who attend the Royal College of Music Junior Department have also each produced a piece of music influenced by one of 12 locations, in and around Luton.Royal College of Music musicians will be part of a team that will rehearse and perform with local students from Luton Music Mix .

Part of the programme will includes a world premiere performance by Luton Youth Orchestra with The Royal College of Music Sparks Mentors, playing newly commissioned pieceTurning Towards the Sun’, by composer Simon Speare, written especially for Luton Mix Mix and inspired by the Bio Readings from 12 locations in and around Luton. Concert start time 7pm

Dates

  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018
  • Sunday, December 8, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 9, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 11, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 13, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 14, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 15, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 16, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 17, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 18, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 20, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 21, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 22, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 23, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 24, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 25, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 26, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 27, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 28, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 29, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 30, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 31, 2019 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, January 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, January 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 31, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, February 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, February 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, February 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, February 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, February 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, February 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, February 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, February 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, February 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, February 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, February 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, February 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, February 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, February 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, February 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, February 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, February 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, February 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, February 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, February 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, March 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, March 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, March 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, March 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, March 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, March 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, March 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, March 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 31, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, May 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 9, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, May 11, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 15, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 16, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 17, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, May 18, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 22, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 23, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 24, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, May 25, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, May 28, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, May 29, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, June 5, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, June 8, 2020 at 7:00pm - 5:00am

Darwin’s Bio Orchestra” concert on October 6th 2018 5.30pm start. Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall, The Royal College Of Music, Prince Consort Rd, London SW7 2BS.

Bury Park Community Centre

Phone: 01582 450194

Email: buryparkcc@lutonculture.com

Facilities

  • Venue rooms with capacities ranging from 5 - 100 (150 standing and 100 seated)
  • 4 toilets
  • 4 disabled toilets
  • Disabled access to all areas
  • Cafe run by Lunch Club, 3 days a week
  • Library Access Point
  • Carparking including 2 disabled spaces
  • Photocopying and faxing available

Other Workshop Events

Nancy Newberry: Smoke Bombs and Border Crossings / Articles of Faith
22nd Nov - 1st Feb 2020

Nancy Newberry: Smoke Bombs and Border Crossings / Articles of Faith

Dallas-based photographic artist Nancy Newberry brings her internationally recognised brand of performative photographic portraiture to Luton in a two-part project which includes her first UK commission.

Storefront Gallery

Workshop Family Friendly

Salsa
Wed 11th Dec 2019

Salsa

Beginners and improvers salsa at Little Red with Prince Ire Promotions

Little Red Creative Studios

Workshop

See All Workshop Events See All Events