Luton.Events

Founded upon Charles Darwin’s research into ‘The Power of Movement in Plants’, this interdisciplinary project of Science, Art and Music is funded by Arts Council England. artist Gayle Storey observed bio structures across Luton at 12 important and culturally significant locations in March, recording the environment, turning data into music, with help from the Royal College of Music. The public had the opportunity to vote for the 12 locations across Luton, accessed through an online poll.

The collaboration will result in two performances, one in Luton at St Mary’s Church and the other at The Royal College of Music.

The first concert will take place on July 11th 2018.at St Mary’s Church, St Mary’s Rd, Luton, LU1 3JF.'Darwin’s Bio Orchestra’concert, featuring Luton Music Mix, Luton Youth Orchestra and students from The Royal College of Music.

Luton Music Mix and The Royal College of Music is pleased to announce this collaboration with local artist and the University of Bedfordshire Testbeds Artist Gayle Storey.

Gayle Storey has collaborated with Head of Composition at the Royal College of Music Junior Department, Simon Speare, to produce a Bio Orchestral score of music from Luton’s environment. Simon Speare’s students who attend the Royal College of Music Junior Department have also each produced a piece of music influenced by one of 12 locations, in and around Luton.Royal College of Music musicians will be part of a team that will rehearse and perform with local students from Luton Music Mix .

Part of the programme will includes a world premiere performance by Luton Youth Orchestra with The Royal College of Music Sparks Mentors, playing newly commissioned pieceTurning Towards the Sun’, by composer Simon Speare, written especially for Luton Mix Mix and inspired by the Bio Readings from 12 locations in and around Luton. Concert start time 7pm

Dates

  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018
  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, October 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, October 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, October 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, October 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, October 31, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 1, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 2, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, November 3, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, November 4, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, November 5, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, November 6, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, November 7, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 8, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 9, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, November 10, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, November 11, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, November 12, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, November 13, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, November 14, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 15, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 16, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, November 17, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, November 18, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, November 19, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, November 20, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, November 21, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, November 24, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, November 25, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, November 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, November 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, November 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, November 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 1, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 2, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 3, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 4, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 5, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 6, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 7, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 8, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 9, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 10, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 11, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 12, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 13, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 14, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 15, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 16, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 17, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 18, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 19, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 20, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 21, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 23, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 24, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, December 25, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, December 26, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, December 27, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, December 28, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, December 29, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, December 30, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, December 31, 2021 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 1, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 2, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 3, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, January 4, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 5, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 6, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 7, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 8, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 9, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 10, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, January 11, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 12, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 13, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 14, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 15, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 16, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 17, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, January 18, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 19, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 20, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 21, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 22, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 23, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 24, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, January 25, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, January 26, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, January 27, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, January 28, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, January 29, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, January 30, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, January 31, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, February 1, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, February 2, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, February 3, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, February 4, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 5, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, February 6, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, February 7, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, February 8, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, February 9, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, February 10, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, February 11, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 12, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, February 13, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, February 14, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, February 15, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, February 16, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, February 17, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, February 18, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 19, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, February 20, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, February 21, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, February 22, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, February 23, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, February 24, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, February 25, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, February 26, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, February 27, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, February 28, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 1, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 2, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 3, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, March 4, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, March 5, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 6, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 7, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 8, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 9, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 10, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, March 11, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, March 12, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 13, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 14, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 15, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 16, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 17, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, March 18, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, March 19, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 20, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 21, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 22, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 23, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 24, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, March 25, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, March 26, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, March 27, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, March 28, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, March 29, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, March 30, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, March 31, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 1, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 2, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 3, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 4, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 5, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 6, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 7, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 8, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 9, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 10, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 11, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 12, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 13, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 14, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 15, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 16, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 17, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 18, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 19, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Wednesday, April 20, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Thursday, April 21, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Friday, April 22, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Saturday, April 23, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Sunday, April 24, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Monday, April 25, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am
  • Tuesday, April 26, 2022 at 7:00pm - 5:00am

Darwin’s Bio Orchestra” concert on October 6th 2018 5.30pm start. Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall, The Royal College Of Music, Prince Consort Rd, London SW7 2BS.

Bury Park Community Centre

Phone: 01582 450194

Email: buryparkcc@lutonculture.com

Facilities

  • Venue rooms with capacities ranging from 5 - 100 (150 standing and 100 seated)
  • 4 toilets
  • 4 disabled toilets
  • Disabled access to all areas
  • Cafe run by Lunch Club, 3 days a week
  • Library Access Point
  • Carparking including 2 disabled spaces
  • Photocopying and faxing available

Other Workshop Events

Linoprinting for Beginners
Thu 28th Oct 2021

Linoprinting for Beginners

Join in our 'Place of Making' workshops with established artists to learn new skills, creative techniques, and make your own art.

The Hat Factory

Workshop

Christmas Bauble Workshop
Sat 13th Nov 2021

Christmas Bauble Workshop

Join in our 'Place of Making' workshops with established artists to learn new skills, creative techniques, and make your own art.

The Hat Factory

Workshop

Needle Felt Robins
Sat 27th Nov 2021

Needle Felt Robins

Join Nic Cremona from Felt and Dandy and learn all basic needle felting techniques whilst making a wonderful little Robin standing on a vintage cotton reel.

The Hat Factory

Workshop

See All Workshop Events See All Events