Luton.Events

International Garden Photographer of the Year

Stockwood Discovery Centre

 

A selection of inspiring entries into the 2018 International Garden Photographer of the Year competition will be displayed in an exhibition at Stockwood Discovery Centre.

With stunning work from both amateur and professional photographers, the exhibition captures beautiful images of plants, habitats and amazing landscapes. The opening exhibition takes place annually at Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, with a rolling programme of touring exhibitions in the UK and in countries worldwide.

Now in its eleventh year, International Garden Photographer of the Year was started by a group of professional garden photographers and has quickly grown to become the world's premier competition and exhibition specialising in garden, plant, flower and botanical photography.

Founder, Philip Smith said...
'Garden photography is an emerging genre. Using a garden as an outdoor studio all photographers of any age and at any skill level can develop their artistic life. Garden photography encompasses many aspects of other types of image-making - you can create mini-landscapes, stalk and photograph all kinds of wildlife - or you can make your flowers look like Hollywood starlets'

International Garden Photographer of the Year is wholly owned and organised by Garden World Images Ltd. It is run in association with the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, United Kingdom.

Images credit:'Cerrado Sunrise' by Marcio Cabral

Event website:www.igpoty.com

Dates

  • Sunday, September 23, 2018
  • Monday, September 24, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, September 28, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, September 29, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, October 1, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, October 2, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 3, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, October 4, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, October 5, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, October 7, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, October 8, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, October 9, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 10, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, October 11, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, October 12, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, October 13, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, October 14, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, October 15, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, October 16, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 17, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, October 18, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, October 19, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, October 20, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, October 22, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, October 23, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 24, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, October 25, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, October 26, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, October 27, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, October 29, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 31, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, November 1, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, November 2, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, November 5, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, November 6, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 7, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, November 8, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, November 9, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, November 10, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, November 11, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, November 12, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 14, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, November 16, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, November 18, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, November 19, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, November 20, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 21, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, November 22, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, November 23, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, November 24, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, November 26, 2018 at 10:00am - 4:00pm

Stockwood Discovery Centre

Stockwood Discovery Centre tells the stories of real people behind the collections, exploring the history of the region from prehistoric times to the evolution of Stockwood House and the Farley estate.

The display collections include:

  • Geology
  • Archaeology
  • Social history
  • Rural crafts

Highlights include:

  • The Wenlok Jug - a rare medieval masterpiece with strong links to Luton’s history 
  • Luton's last tram
  • The award winning display of Mossman collection of carriages - the largest collection of its kind on display in the UK.

A paradise for garden enthusiasts, Stockwood Discovery Centre is one of the few places in the country where the work of acclaimed artist Ian Hamilton Finlay can be seen on permanent display. His Improvement Garden is a classical garden in which the sculptures are an integral part of the landscape. Once part of the original Stockwood House walled areas, the Period Gardens reflect the changing styles of gardening in this country. New areas include a contemplative Sensory Garden, a colourful World Garden and a Medicinal Garden highlighting the usefulness of plants - designed with environmentally green and sustainable principles in mind.

Venue Hire:

Stockwood Discovery Centre is the perfect setting for events, meetings and celebrations. See Venue Hire for more information. 

Programming

To become part of Stockwood Discovery Centre's programme, please contact our Head of Arts & Cultural Programmes, Fahim Qureshi at Fahim.Qureshi@LutonCulture.com

Downloads

Stockwood Discovery Centre Map

Other Exhibition Events

5th Apr - 6th Apr 2019

Zombie Nightmare experience

Experience a 60 minute Zombie survival experience in a real working shopping centre.

The Mall, Luton

Exhibition

Out of the Box
Sun 5th May 2019

Out of the Box

Discover never before seen items from the collections!

Wardown House

Exhibition Family Friendly

Out of the Box
Sun 5th May 2019

Out of the Box

Discover never before seen items from the collections!

Wardown House

Exhibition Family Friendly

See All Exhibition Events See All Events