Luton.Events

Departure Lounge is delighted to be reopening to the public with an exhibition of new work by award-winning, Hong Kong-based photographer Kurt Tong.


In this update of his 2009 project of the same name, Tong re-visits the centuries-old Chinese funerary tradition of making Joss paper offerings to the dead, and poses the question of what we might need, or want to provide for our loved ones, in the afterlife.


Today, everything from the most mundane household necessities to luxurious accessories and aspirational status symbols are mass-produced or custom-made in Joss paper, designed specifically for burning to honour the departed. 'In Case it Rains in Heaven' explores how this traditional practice reflects the materialism of Asia’s rapidly developing economy.

Dates

  • Saturday, May 22, 2021
  • Thursday, May 27, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, May 28, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, May 29, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, June 3, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, June 4, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, June 5, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, June 11, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, June 12, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, June 17, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, June 18, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, June 19, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, June 24, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, June 25, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, June 26, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, July 1, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, July 2, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, July 3, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, July 8, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, July 9, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, July 10, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, July 15, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, July 16, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, July 17, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, July 22, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, July 23, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, July 24, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, July 29, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Friday, July 30, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm
  • Saturday, July 31, 2021 at 1:00pm - 6:00pm

Departure Lounge

Other Exhibition Events

Modern Slavery
Sun 1st Aug 2021

Modern Slavery

Syrian artist Sara Shamma brings attention to the global issue of human trafficking and modern slavery, through a new series of large scale portraits.

Stockwood Discovery Centre

Exhibition

Light in dark times
Mon 2nd Aug 2021

Light in dark times

Unique, creative responses to Covid19 pandemic by local students in 2d and 3d.

Wardown Park

Exhibition Family Friendly

Unfurling Beauty
Mon 2nd Aug 2021

Unfurling Beauty

6 Fabulous abstract nature inspired, Pen, Ink and Gold Leaf paintings by local and International artist Kiran Patel.

Wardown House

Exhibition Family Friendly

See All Exhibition Events See All Events